Prize Fest toasts film, music, and food

Shreveport, La. - The 2017 Louisiana Film Prize launches its intense, yet celebratory competition between 20 films/filmmakers for a $50,000 grand prize at the 6th edition of the Louisiana Film Prize in Shreveport, Louisiana.

Each of the Top 20 films will compete at The Prize Fest Festival Weekend (October 5-7) which are determined via a rare combination of voting from audience and film and industry judges. The judges are an eclectic mix of filmmakers, film journalists, film industry veterans, film festival programmers, and taste makers.

It has been a tradition for the weekend's proceedings to begin with a toast from Film Prize Founder and Executive Director Gregory Kallenberg, to set the tone for what will transpire and to inspire the filmmakers and the judges to make the weekend of screenings and events as fun and transcendent as it can possibly be. 

The 2017 Louisiana Film Prize Finalists 
AMERICAN CARNAGE                Tamzin Merchant (DIR)
                            Cam Owen (CAST)
                            Daniel Salazar (CAST)

ARIA FOR ALBRIGHTS                Alexander Jeffrey (DIR)
                            Laura Bretan (CAST)

CANDYLAND                    Taylor Bracewell (DIR)
                            Alex Dafnis (CAST)
THE CURE                        Deborah Stone (DIR)
                            Ashley D. Merritt (CAST)

Melissa Munds (PROD/ED/AD)
Megan Colvin (EXEC PROD)
Jacob McSharma (EXEC PROD) 
Jaya McSharma (EXEC PROD)
Alisha Munds (PA)
Elise Birmingham (CAST)
Kendrick Thomas (CAST)

EXIT STRATEGY                    Travis Bible (DIR)
                            Christopher O'Shea (CAST)

FATHER                        Baron Creighton (DIR)
                            Jesse Gallegos (CAST)

HELLO SYLVIA    Jeremy Enis (Co-DIR/ PROD/SCR/ED/Composer)
Rex Davey (PROD/AD/Sound ED)
Nick Enis (VFX, PA)    

HER CALLING                    Travis Mills (DIR)
                            Heather Fusari (CAST)

INCREDIBLY SMART, SEXY,             Raylee Magill (DIR/CAST)

MY FATHER'S SON                Kyle Clements (DIR/CAST)

POPCORN AND CHOCOLATE            Catherine Hatcher (DIR)
                            Michael Baker (CAST)

SCOUNDRELS                    Mark Blitch (DIR/PROD) 
Jason Walter Vaile (SCR/PROD)  
Danielle Wheeler (PROD/CAST) 
Jeanetta M. Miller (CAST) 
Kassandra Marron (CAST) 
Todd Terry (CAST) 
Kelly Boggs (Make up)
Alex Swain Richardson (Make up)
Megan Sample (Make up) 

SEED OF THE FREE                Jency Griffin Hogan (DIR)
Tarhonda Bazille (DIR)
LeCourtney Young (CAST)    

SHAKESPEARE ON THE RANGE        Christine Chen (DIR)
                            Garrett Kruithof (CAST)

STAG                            Jonnie Stapleton (DIR)
                            Mike Nicholas (AD)
Lilach Mendelovich (CAST)
Sarah Mills (CAST)
Paul Kolker (CAST)
Bianca Siplin (CAST)
Casey Atkins (CAST)
Dennis Hershberger (Location Manager)
Benjamin River Williamson (CAST/CREW)

STREET DYKES                    Haven Nutt (DIR/CAST)
                            Chris Hopkins (CAST)

SYSTEM 438                    Matthew Ramsaur (DIR/PROD/ED)
                            Adam Duncan (CAST)
Saskia Lynge (CAST)
Stan MacDonald (CAST)
Heath Lemme (CAST)
Victoria Arnold (CAST)
Samuel F. Brantley (SCR)
Josue Ferrero (DP)
Justin Cox (Composer)
Ken Armes (AD)

THE TUNNEL MONSTER                Travis Champagne (DIR)

WILLOW                        Suzanne Racz (DIR)
                            Brady Wolchansky (CAST)

The 2017 Film Prize Judges
Kim Adelman (Making It Big in Shorts)
Carlos Aguilar (Indiewire, MovieMaker Magazine, Filmmaker Magazine, Remezcla)
Tim Anderson (Florida Film Festival)
Sharon Lee Badal (Tribeca Film Festival)
Jim Brunzell (Austin Gay & Lesbian Film Festival)
Destri Martino ("The Director")
Maureen Masters (Brooklyn Academy of Music's Cinématek)
Tara McPherson (USC's Associate Professor of Critical Studies)
Linda Campos Olszewski (Shorts International)
Jude Gerard Prest (Show Runner and director)
Kristy Puchko (Vanity Fair, Time Out New York, Vulture, Pajiba)
Paul Sloop (Cleveland International Film Festival)
Jacques Thelemaque (TRANSACTION) 

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News