Louisiana Tax Free Shopping receives Presidential award for export service

By Nikki Henderson | nhenderson@ktalnews.tv

Published 06/23 2014 09:11AM

Updated 06/23 2014 09:16AM

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker has presented Louisiana Tax Free Shopping for International Visitors with the President’s “E” Award for Export Service at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. 

The “E” Awards are the highest recognition any U.S. entity may receive for making a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports.

LTFS Executive Director Denise Thevenot said, “Receiving this award is a tremendous acknowledgment of the economic impact of money spent by Louisiana's international visitors.  LTFS is proud to play a part in helping retailers grow their businesses here at home, while also helping the United States expand its exports abroad.” 

In her congratulatory letter to LTFS, Secretary Pritzker said, “Louisiana Tax Free Shopping has demonstrated a sustained commitment to export expansion. The 'E' Awards Committee was very impressed with the organization's development of the tax free shopping program as an innovative tool to promote travel and tourism. It is particularly impressive that the work of the organization has resulted in an economic benefit to Louisiana of more than $73 million in 2011 alone. Louisiana Tax Free Shopping's achievements have undoubtedly contributed to national export expansion efforts that support the U.S. economy and create American jobs.”  

Since 1989, Louisiana Tax Free Shopping for International Visitors has provided cash refunds for sales taxes paid on tangible items, not including lodging, food, and services, purchased at participating tax-free stores and permanently removed from the United States.  Visitors can apply for refunds at seven locations throughout Louisiana, including New Orleans, Metairie, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Bossier City and Louis Armstrong International Airport.

LTFS is one of only 66 companies nationwide presented with the President’s “E” Award this year.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.