Texarkana College Board of Trustees recognizes Excellence Award recipients

By Nikki Henderson | nhenderson@ktalnews.tv

Published 07/22 2014 04:45PM

Updated 07/22 2014 04:50PM

Texarkana College Board of Trustees recognized Dr. Phyllis Gardner, professor, and Ronda Dozier, Dean of Workforce & Continuing Education, Tuesday afternoon for receiving the annual National Institute of Staff and Organizational Development Excellence Awards.

NISOD’s Excellence Awards recognize men and women each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. 

Each year, participating colleges select two recipients who contribute to student success and their colleges’ missions.

President James Henry Russell said, “Dr. Phyllis Gardner and Ronda Dozier were easy choices for the NISOD Excellence Award because they represent excellence in everything they do. This award is meant for two leaders at your institution who easily adapt to change, engage with your student body, and exemplify a ‘failure is not an option’ spirit. We are fortunate to have educational leaders like Dr. Gardner and Mrs. Dozier to represent Texarkana College and our world-class faculty and administration this year.”

Gardner and Dozier were formally recognized for their achievements at NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, held May 25-28 in Austin, Texas.

Gardner, a professor of sociology, psychology and addiction studies, has worked for Texarkana College since 2007, and she currently serves as president of the IC&RC, an international organization that sets credentialing standards for prevention, substance use treatment, and recovery professionals. Gardner also sponsors TC’s Road Scholars study abroad program.

Dozier has worked for Texarkana College since 2008. In January 2013, she was the first woman to be appointed Dean of Workforce and Continuing Education. She represents education on the Northeast Texas Workforce Solutions board and serves on the Texarkana Chamber of Commerce Community and Military Affairs Committee.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.