Bossier, Caddo Parish farmers may qualify for Hurricane Laura aid


BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Farmers in Bossier and Caddo parishes may qualify for low-interest loans to cover losses from Hurricane Laura in August.

These are parishes which did not already qualify under President Trump’s disaster declaration in August.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has named Caldwell, Natchitoches, Ouachita and Red River as primary disaster areas, Louisiana Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry Mike Strain said Wednesday in a news release.

Strain said parishes adjacent to any of those four are considered contiguous disaster areas. Those are Bossier, Caddo, DeSoto, Sabine, Bienville, Catahoula, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, LaSalle, Lincoln, Morehouse, Rapides, Richland, Union, Vernon, and Winn.

The storm did more than $1.6 billion in damage to Louisiana’s agriculture and forestry, according to the LSU AgCenter.

Farmers and ranchers who can prove losses from the storm’s high winds may get low-interest Farm Service Agency loans to cover some of those losses.

Farmers in eligible areas have eight months to apply for the loans and can get more information from their local FSA office.

Copyright 2020 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Stay up to date with the latest news and weather by downloading the Arklatexhomepage News App from the App Store or Google Play.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Loving Living Local 600x600

Don't Miss