TASD announces AR Teacher of the Year regional finalist

Juanita Harris 08.09.18_1533848460334.PNG.jpg

An elementary school teacher from Texarkana was recently named an Arkansas Teacher of the Year Regional Finalist.

Juanita Harris is a first grade teacher at Union da Vinci Magnet School.

On Monday the Arkansas Department of Education announced the 14 state finalists.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson and ADE Commissioner Johnny Key, along with family, friends, and fellow educators, will honor Harris and the other finalists at 9:45 a.m.  Aug. 16 at the Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock. 

As a regional finalist, Harris will receive a cash award in the amount of $1,000.

Harris is a 2006 graduate of Arkansas High School. She completed her Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education at Southern Arkansas University and her Master’s in Curriculum and Instruction. 

Superintendent Dr. Becky Kesler said, “Ms. Harris’ dedication and commitment to her students is worthy of recognition. She makes learning fun and creates an innovative educational environment for her students. We are proud that she is representing the Texarkana Arkansas School District as a 2018 Teacher of the Year Regional Finalist.” 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Check This Out
Loving Living Local 600x600

Don't Miss