Wiley College welcomes 17th President

Local News

It’s the official start of a new era at the oldest Historically Black College in our area.  Friday morning Wiley College celebrated the inauguration of Dr. Herman Felton as the school’s 17th President.

Wiley students and faculty, community members and delegates from colleges around the country filled the Marshall Convention Center.  The service and celebratory events to officially welcome President Felton to his new post at Wiley is taking place during the 146th Founders Observance.

Dr. Felton says, “It’s affirmation that people want you to succeed and really are with you on the journey, so it’s refreshing to know there are people here who support me and Wiley.”

A host of well-wishers gave greetings and remarks during the ceremony, including  Dr. Felton’s mentor, Dr. Jimmy R. Jenkins Sr., President of Livingstone College; Larry Hurta, Mayor of Marshall; Texas State Representative Chris Paddie;  Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis, President of Benedict College; and Dr. Billie Hawkins, President of Talladega College.

Bishop Scott Jameson Jones, Residing Bishop of the Texas Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church, delivered the invocation.

During his inaugural address, President Felton shared his vision for the College.  Dr. Felton began his service at Wiley in the summer of 2018.  He has already spearheaded a campaign with alumni and supporters to renovate the Thomas W. Cole Library.

“To make sure that we continue to produce a quality citizen that could be a change agent and to make sure that we uphold the values of the United Methodist Christian Church.”

Felton is also partnering with the Marshall Economic Development Corporation to receive a $100,000 grant to renovate the College’s radio station and a training space for Physical Education majors.

President Felton has also created a Student Health, Counseling, and Wellness Program for the College that is staffed with a full-time licensed practitioner.

Dr. Felton comes to Wiley College from Wilberforce University in Wilberforce, Ohio, where he served as the school’s 21st president. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss