Arkansas’ Moody and Notae honored by SEC Coaches

College Sports

By: Arkansas Athletics

Fayetteville, Ar (Arkansas Athletics) – Arkansas guard Moses Moody picked up three honors by the SEC coaches, including SEC Freshman of the Year, and JD Notae was voted the SEC Sixth-Man of the Year, the league announced today.

In addition to being selected SEC Freshman of the Year, Moody was named first team All-SEC and elected to the SEC All-Freshman team. Moody:

  • Is just the second Razorback freshman to be named first team All-SEC, joining Scotty Thurman (1993).
  • Is just the second Razorback to be named SEC Freshman of the Year, joining Patrick Beverley (2007).
  • Is the 11th Razorback (15 total honors) to earn first-team All-SEC by the coaches.
  • Gives Arkansas its 19th member of the SEC All-Freshman team.
  • Was named to the SEC Men’s Basketball Community Service team last week.

First Team All-SEC
Herbert Jones, Alabama
John Petty Jr., Alabama
Moses Moody, Arkansas
Tre Mann, Florida
Cameron Thomas, LSU
Devontae Shuler, Ole Miss
Dru Smith, Missouri
Scotty Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt

Notae, a redshirt junior, becomes the second Razorback to be tabbed SEC Sixth-Man of the Year, joining Eric Ferguson (2006).

Moses Moody Season Highlights

  • A three-time SEC Freshman of the Week
  • Ranks third in the SEC in scoring and third among NCAA freshmen in scoring (17.5 ppg)
  • 1 of 3 freshmen in the NCAA to average at least 15.0 points and 5.0 rebounds
  • 1 of 2 SEC players – the only freshman – to average 16.0 points and 5.5 rebounds
  • 1 of 3 SEC players – the only freshman – to rank among the league’s top 20 in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage, free throw percentage and 3-point percentage
  • 1 of 4 SEC players – the only freshman – to shoot at least 42 percent from the field, 35 percent from 3-point range and 80 percent from the free throw line
  • Ranks eighth in the NCAA in free throws made while setting an Arkansas freshman record for free throws made despite a pandemic-shortened season
  • Led the team in scoring 10 times (best on the team) and rebounding six times (second-best on the team) while leading the team in scoring and rebounding in the same game a team-best three times
  • Becomes the sixth Razorback freshman ever to lead his team in scoring for a season (George Kok at 18.7 in 1944-45; Scotty Thurman at 17.4 in 1992-93; Joe Johnson at 16.0 in 1999-00; Jonathon Modica at 11.5 in 2002-03 and Patrick Beverley at 13.9 in 2006-07)
  • Scored a season-high 28 points three times (at Alabama and back-to-back wins over South Carolina and Texas A&M to close the regular season)
  • Scored 20-plus points eight times (six times in SEC play) and grabbed at least five rebounds 19 times
  • During Arkansas’ 11-game SEC win streak, Moody led the team in scoring (17.4) and was second in both rebounds (5.7) and blocked shots (9) while having the third-best totals in assists (24) and steals (12).

JD Notae Season Highlights

  • Was the team’s first substitute off the bench 12 times and Arkansas was 11-1 in such games
  • Ranks second on the team in scoring (12.9) and averaged 12.2 points in SEC games
  • Ranks ninth in the SEC in free throws made (79), 12th in the SEC in field goals made, 12th in the SEC in 3-pointers made (44), 13th In the SEC in steals and 13th in total points (335)
  • Has led the team in assists seven times (tied for tops on the team) and scoring five times (second-best on the team)
  • At South Carolina, he scored 21 points with five rebounds, five assists and five steals – the first Hog to do so since 1997
  • Shot 20 percentage points better from 3-point range in SEC games (.347) than he did for the season (.328)
  • Made a strong push down the stretch by averaging 15 points, 4.3 rebounds 2.8 assists and 3.0 steals over the final four games.

2021 SEC HONORS (Coaches)

Second Team All-SEC
Jaden Shackelford, Alabama
Colin Castleton, Florida
Sahvir Wheeler, Georgia
Javonte Smart, LSU
Trendon Watford, LSU
D.J. Stewart Jr., Mississippi State
Jeremiah Tilmon, Missouri
AJ Lawson, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Joshua Primo, Alabama
Moses Moody, Arkansas
Sharife Cooper, Auburn
KD Johnson, Georgia
Isaiah Jackson, Kentucky
Cameron Thomas, LSU
Keon Johnson, Tennessee
Jaden Springer, Tennessee

All-Defensive Team
Herbert Jones, Alabama
Isaiah Jackson, Kentucky
Abdul Ado, Mississippi State
Dru Smith, Missouri
Yves Pons, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: Nate Oats, Alabama
Player of the Year: Herbert Jones, Alabama
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Dylan Disu, Vanderbilt
Freshman of the Year: Moses Moody, Arkansas
Sixth-Man of the Year: JD Notae, Arkansas
Defensive Player of the Year: Herbert Jones, Alabama

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss