Louisiana’s minimum marriage age will start in August

Top Stories
Marriage generic_1554420932928.jpg.jpg

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Louisiana will have a minimum marriage age of 16 starting in August, under a bill signed into law by Gov. John Bel Edwards.

The hard-fought measure by Sen. Yvonne Dorsey Colomb, a Baton Rouge Democrat, was passed in the final hour of the legislative session earlier this month. Edwards signed the legislation without fanfare.

The new law will prohibit anyone under age 16 from getting married, and will prohibit anyone 16 or 17 years old from marrying someone three years or more older. Anyone 16 or 17 years old will need permission from parents and a judge to marry.

Supporters say a minimum age can help protect teenagers from sexual predators. Opponents, largely conservative Republicans, argued they didn’t want to keep pregnant teenagers from marrying.

Stay up to date with the latest news and weather by downloading the Arklatexhomepage News App from the App Store or Google Play.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Check This Out

Trending Stories

Loving Living Local 600x600

Don't Miss